Goodnight Dr. Maya Angelou April 4 1928 – May 28 2014

Dr Maya Angelou
Dr Maya Angelou

It is a sad day as we mark the death of Dr Maya Angelou (Margurite Ann Johnson). A well-known figure for her courage, humanity and her remarkable way with words. Author, poet, historian, civil rights activist, playwright, playwright, professor, amongst many more qualifications in her colourful life. A woman, who despite a troubled childhood and surviving the struggles of the Depression era for Afro-Americans, rose into the light and became the beacon of light for those who admired her work.

Maya the dancer
Maya the dancer

Family Statement

Thursday May 28, 2014

Dr. Maya Angelou passed quietly in her home before 8:00am EST.  Her family is extremely grateful that her ascension was not belabored by a loss of acuity or comprehension.  She lived a life as a teacher, activist, artist, and human being.  She was a warrior for equality, tolerance and peace.  The family is extremely appreciative of the time we had with her and we know that she is looking down upon us with love. – Guy B. Johnson [son]

To complete a full and fitting tribute to this wonderful woman, who is also an influence on my belief and ability to right, would take an age. There are too many aspects to cover. All I can say is may her legacy continue to shine and inspire and Maya, I hope you are now singing and dancing with the angels.

In her own words….Maya Angelou

“I make writing as much a part of my life as I do eating or listening to music.” – 1999

maya history quote

“I also wear a hat or a very tightly pulled head tie when I write. I suppose I hope by doing that I will keep my brains from seeping out of my scalp and running in great gray blobs down my neck, into my ears, and over my face.” – 1984

maya self quote“Nothing so frightens me as writing, but nothing so satisfies me. It’s like a swimmer in the [English] Channel: you face the stingrays and waves and cold and grease, and finally you reach the other shore, and you put your foot on the ground—Aaaahhhh!” – 1989

maya normal

courage maya virtue

belief in someone maya

 

Leave a Reply

