CHRISTMAS – Donnatella’s Christmas Message 2012

christmas-love-1280x960

Donnatella’s Space would like to wish all readers, browsers and fans of this site a truly “Merry Christmas” and share a little Christmas message with you all.

Now I’ll try and keep this message as short and as to the point as I possibly can.  My nearest and dearest know that I’m quite particular to an odd rant every now and then, especially at Christmas, so I’ll save you the earache I give them…  As news broke this afternoon, of two young boys being killed in a car crash on this Christmas day, it rang home how grateful we should be, for the things we have and not the things we want.

The little Lord Jesus asleep on the hay
The little Lord Jesus asleep on the hay

It amazes me how so many children celebrating Christmas believe in Santa more than they do in Jesus.  They happily receive gifts in the honour of the birthday of Christ but have no faith at all.  Speaking of gifts, how many people have driven themselves into debt to buy lavish presents for a generation of what has grown out of the “I want” kids, to the “I must have” kids?  Its stupidly insane that millions of people have taken out crazy loans and missed out their rent/energy bills over the festive season to get the ‘buzz’ of Christmas.

Image Source :  Christians Against Poverty
Image Source : Christians Against Poverty
Festive Flooding in York, UK.Image Source:  www.guardian.co.uk
Festive Flooding in York, UK.
Image Source: http://www.guardian.co.uk

Of course, Christmas is the time to eat, drink and be merry, love our loved ones that little bit extra and let the children play.  But I must ask you all, in the words of Band AidsDo They Know Its Christmas?”, to “save a prayer for the other ones”.  The lonely, the grieving, the starving,  the people who’ve lost their homes and belongings through testing weather and the unfortunate suffering all over the world.  It’s easy to forget the suffering when we’re wallowing in our own self-pity but no matter how bad things seem, there’s always someone else worse off.

To sum up Christmas 2012; it has shown me the true ‘cherished’ ones in my life and given me the confidence to eliminate the fake ones in order to have a happier 2013.  I’m blessed with two healthy children that love me, despise my faults and are grateful for the little things in life. When nature or tragedy strikes, luxury possessions are just that, possessions.  It’s those little, unimportant things in life that we often take for granted that get us through the tough times and are what we truly need.

Mince pies

Merry Christmas to you all. I sincerely hope you all had/have a ‘funtastic‘ day.  Also a BIG “thank you” all for supporting this blog and I hope you will continue reading Donnatella’s Space in the future. xxx

Leave a Reply

