Language – “Poppy Show” Jamaican Slang

Poppies
Poppies (Photo credit: Moyan_Brenn_BE_BACK_on_10th_OCT)

Poppy Show (poppee show) :- A “poppy show” is nothing to do with the red flowers (above) commonly associated with Remembrance Day. In West Indian terms, particularly Jamaican, a “poppy show” is an ol’ school phrase that refers to someone ‘showing off’ or who is boastful. The older generation of my Jamaican family, especially the women, would use “poppy show” quite frequently behind the backs of people they thought were over the top.

Examples: Say you’re at a wedding and there’s a female guest who’s dressed more  flamboyantly than the bride and all eyes are on her, not the bride, you would say she’s a “poppy show”.

Someone who likes to brag about the things they own, their status, their finances would be labelled a “poppy show” because of their boastfulness and cocksure attitude.

  Beyonce displaying an example of being a “poppy show”

Celebrity Poppy Shows Prince. Now I’m a BIG fan of Prince and don’t agree that he’s a poppy show but because of his florid and extravagant dress sense, the hair, the heels, my grandmother would often tease me about the “d’yam poppee show bwoy” when I was a teenager. Lady Gaga, Kanye West, P-Diddy and the cast of The Only Way Is Essex are other classic examples. An aunt of mine called Beyonce “poppy show” whilst watching a DVD of the singer performing at a concert.

5 thoughts on “Language – “Poppy Show” Jamaican Slang

  1. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.

    It’s always useful to read content from other authors and practice
    a little something from other web sites.

  2. Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

    1. Leslie McLane (fashion and accessories) – I have no problem with you sharing my blog post so long as you don’t remove/change my name from my work. Thanks for reading. DAMW

Leave a Reply

