I’m A ‘Fifty Shades Of Grey’ Virgin

‘Fifty Shades Of Grey

I’ve always loved a good novel but don’t get to read as much as I’d like to nowadays. I’m a single mum, juggling 3 blogs so there’s little time for me to kick back and get into a good book. I’m currently struggling to get through the fabulous Chunichi’s “Gangster Girl” series published by Urban Books, but all my girlfriends are telling me that I need to put it down and pick up “Fifty Shades of Grey” by E.L. James, Vintage Books.

Even celebrities, like Selena Gomez, pictured, are hooked on the ‘Grey’

It seems every female, black, white, young and old have got themselves in a flap over this erotic novel. All except me. I’ve never been one to fall for the hype…the latest book, the new movie, the hottest music star. I don’t like things forced on me as its always a huge disappointment when they don’t live up to their expectations. However, I’m finding myself tempted to discover if this book makes the cut.

Image Source: http://www.screencrush.com

The content of the novel (rich powerful guy, young virgin, kinky sex– blindfolds, gagged and bound) has sent the media and thousands of “desperate” housewives into a frenzy. Now I like a little freakiness, an air of dominance but some of the paragraphs I’ve had rammed in my face by my sister is way out there, even for a broad-minded girl like me. My sister has just finished the first of the three in the series and was so into it she even took it to work. Her poor husband has been shunted aside whilst she got in the ‘grey zone’. Now she’s completed Book One, I suspect he’ll be getting more attention than he can manage.

Have you read the book?  Does it live up to the hype or is over-rated?  Comments would be greatly appreciated.

 

Leave a Reply

