Happy Earthday Prince and Allen Iverson, June 7th

Today, June 7th is the birthdays of music master, Prince Rogers Nelson, who turns 54 and former NBA basketball player,  Allen Iverson, who turns 37.

Now before any Prince fans jump on my bones, I know Prince is a Jehovah’s Witness and no longer celebrates his birthday but its not a crime for his fans to celebrate this Earthday in his honour.

Born, bred and rooted in Minneapolis, Prince has been in the music industry for almost 40 years which have earned him 7 Grammy award wins out of a staggering 33 nominations and countless of other awards around the globe. He has produced ten platinum albums and 30 Top 40 singles during his career.  Prince has also made three movies, Purple Rain, Under The Cherry Moon and Graffiti Bridge and fans are longing for another.

Vegetarian Prince has been married twice and is rumoured to have been in a relationship with singer, Bria Valente since 2007. Recent gossip has linked him to model/singer Andy Allo. I just sincerely hope whoever he’s with makes him happy and doesn’t halt him from making music. He has no children but had a son in 1996 with first wife Mayte who sadly died shortly after birth.

Today on his birthday I will play hours of his music and pray for him to see many more as he remains to be one of the most valuable living legends of current times. He may not have popularity in the charts but he is the King of tours, packing out stadiums around the world to thousands of the most loyal and dedicated fans.

Check out this Youtube video of Prince in live action.  When he plays, he and the guitar become one, a unit.


Bad boy basketball star, Allen Ezail Iverson made a huge impression on the basketball court back in 1996, despite being considered small at 6 foot and an even bigger impression with the ladies with his cornrows and tattoos. I’m not gonna lie. I know nothing about basketball but I’ve stayed up till ridiculous hours watching games just to get some Iverson eye candy.

Allen won Rookie of the year in 1997 and NBA most valued player in 2001. His career however, has been plagued with brushes with the law, numerous lawsuits and a rap career stalled in 2000 because the NBA were not impressed with his controversial lyrics. Allen recorded the track, “40 Bars” under the name of Jewelz.

He married his childhood sweetheart in 2001 but the couple divorced in 2010. They have five children.

Allen’s basketball career came to an end in 2011 and is now playing pro-soccer for Rochester Landers indoor team.

Read More

Lovesexy – The album that saved my life

The Prince in my life

Guilty Pleasure Music, ‘Sister’ by Prince

5 thoughts on “Happy Earthday Prince and Allen Iverson, June 7th

  1. Hi, I just wondered where you got the images of prince one, specifically the one of him in the yellow jacket. I would like to use this image and need to make sure I am not not infringing on anyone else’s copyright. It would be a great help, Thanks!

    1. Hi Sophie,

      I copied the Prince photo from another blog and the picture was not credited to anyone. I totally understand your point about infringing copyright so if you wish to use it, state ‘unknown’ and no-one can accuse you of any wrongdoing. However, if you are using the image to make profit publicly you may have an issue on your head. Let me know how you get on and if you’re doing a project on Prince, I’d love to see it, being a fan. Thanks Donna

      1. Hi Donna,

        Unfortunately I would like to use it as part of some graphic designs which may be printed on t-shirts, so there would be an issue. Which blog did you retrieve the image from?

        Thank you for your help and quick response,

        Sophie

      2. Hi Sophie,

        I am going to go through my files to retrace my research. I can’t guarantee my results will help you but I will do my best and get back to you.

        Regards, Donna

Leave a Reply

